Saturday, June 27, 2015

Batman '66 Vol. 3 Graphic Novel review






















Batman '66 Volume three continues the series in style, staying timely while looking retro. "The Joker's Big Show" introduces Dr. Holly Quinn to the series. Dr. Quinn is a rehabilitation counselor @ Arkham Asylum, the place where all of Batman's enemies end up sooner or later. Dr. Quinn has secretly stepped over the line after she agrees to help Catwoman and the Joker perfect a cerebral cyco-ray machine. The ray converts the Joker's insane brain waves into energy which powers the ray. The villains use the mad machine to drive Gotham city batty. All is lost until Holly Quinn sacrifices her own sanity to save Gotham city from the mad ray. "The Batrobot Takes Flight" reflects the current Batman robot storyline as a super Batbot takes over defending Gotham city in Batman and Robin's absence. Never fear citizens, Batman and Robin make the scene as the Joker and the Riddler solve the robot mystery. Vincent Price's Egghead succeeds in turning Batman and Robin into the Ape crusaders in a very hairy story which closes out the book.



Labels: ,

Sunday, June 21, 2015

Batman '66 Vol. 2 Graphic Novel review



Batman '66 has proven to be a great throwback series. This graphic novel will please both old-time Batman fans and younger readers alike. The covers, drawn by Mike Allred and colored by Laura Allred are fantastic. "King Tut Barges In" features a ever resourceful Batman repelling crocodiles with his modified Bat-Shark-Repellant and after the spray runs out Batman uses a wild animal call to attract a bunch of hippos to scare away the crocs. Even more impressive is Batman's "Khoomei Throat Singing" which just so happens to repel a hungry bunch of scorpions ready to sting Batman and Robin and make them their next meal. "Showdown With Shame!" is amazingly watercolored by artist Ruben Procopio. The look and feel of the story reminded of a spaghetti western, matching the time frame of Batman '66 perfectly. A fabulous battle between 2 female protagonists' closes this edition out, as Batgirl goes toe to toe with Cleopatra. A special bonus section features more great cover art by the Allreds. Here's a couple for you to check out.




Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Graveyard Shift Graphic Novel Review



























Image Comics has served up Graveyard Shift, a modern, sexy twist on the vampire legend. Copperhead writer Jay Faerber and veteran artist Fran Bueno have teamed up once again after their run on Noble Causes proved to be a great success. Faerber and Bueno have come full circle with Graveyard Shift, which the creative duo crafted way back in 2007, predating the “Twilight” movies and the True Blood TV series. While Faerber acknowledges the fact “that vampires are a bit played out,” he also admits that he has “always been fascinated by them.” Any way you slice it, this book proves to be well worth the wait. The contrast created by the artistic mix of light and dark shadows proves to be very effective. The dramatic narrative is a unique mix of crime, horror and undying romance. The story is centered on a homicide detective named Liam and his blonde fiancee, Hope. All of the vampire blood takes a back seat to the love the young couple have for each other. The interaction between the young couple and how they learn to deal with the fact that Hope is now an undead vampire makes this book a real page-turner. After Hope succumbs to her first bout of blood lust, Liam is taken aback by her lack of a pulse and the way the blood meal makes her act like she’s drunk. The allure of a great vampire story has proven to be timeless, and Graveyard Shift capitalizes on this fact. Fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer, The Lost Boys, Salem’s Lot and The Night Stalker will find Graveyard Shift hard to resist.

Special thanks to Queen City Bookstore and Artvoice Newspaper.

Labels: , , ,

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Spread: Vol. 1 No Hope Graphic Novel review



Spread rhymes with red and dead and those words are a big part of what makes Spread so grossly enthralling. Plenty of bloody, red gore and violent, horrific killing. It's not all slice and dice, all of the bleeding is supported by a great, post apocalyptic, narrative. The title of Volume One is interesting because it uses the names of the two characters names that are on the cover, No and Hope. No, who looks like Wolverine, is a loner who is immune to the Spread virus. No becomes Hopes caretaker after he rescues the baby from a band of wayward thugs. There is a big problem though, No has no way of feeding Hope and this is where Crazy Molly comes in. After No rescues the enslaved Crazy Molly, she feeds Hope with her breast milk. There is a great scene in the book in which the reader finds out just how important Hope and Crazy Molly are to the storyline. Five minions of the Spread are eradicated with Hope's super vomit. Hope's bodily fluids destroy the Spread and the baby becomes a savior to the living and a target for the Spread. The art of Kyle Strahm draws the reader in with it's mind blowing, gruesome horror. Every page displays murder in a new way and at least 1 droplet of blood, you want to look away but you can't. The Spread is a huge creature that comes in many shapes and sizes. It stalks humanity seeking new victims to infect in it's quest to take over the planet. Once infected a human being becomes a shape shifting, servant of the vile organism. Fan's of 80's slasher flicks will love Spread.

Special thanks goes out to Queen City Bookstore and Artvoice newspaper.

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Goon Once Upon A Hard Time Part 3 of 4 review


The latest Goon series is phantasmically fantastic. The Goon is a righteous read, with the look and feel of a classic 50's EC comic. The shadowy colored artwork, sewn together with some heavy paranormal themes, caught my eye upon first glance. A few more glances reveal haunting faces lurking in the background of the art, plenty of gore and a sidekick that looks like the male version of Little Orphan Annie. The Goon and his gang of paranormal pals fight off any lurking evil that comes to take over their cursed, small town. The spirit of all the EC comics that were burned in the 50's lurks somewhere within the pages of these comic books. Fans of MAD's Jack Davis will absolutely love this book to pieces.




BONUS SECTION:







(Original posting) The Goon, My Murderous Childhood is filled with zombies, a talking spider, a trash talking sidekick and cannibalistic hobos. The Goon is just what the doctor ordered if want to read something other than the classic superhero-type stuff. The artwork is excellent as well.

Labels: , ,

Madman Atomic Comics, Vol. 2 review

 
SEE! Madman fight off a ghost with an extension cord!
READ! An entire comic filled with double paged panels featuring giant evil snakes with huge lips!
MARVEL! at the amazing origin of It Girl and Madgirl!
READ! An amazing introduction by the creator of The Goon, Eric Powell! 

Are you tired of the same old run of the mill superhero stories? Madman presents a exciting alternative to the big 2. Every panel is full of psychedelic, sci-fi surprises. The intro by my fave new artist, Eric Powell is worth the price of this graphic novel alone. It's absolutely brilliant and full of fabulous, interesting insights, making this aptly named, paranormal paradise volume a must have. 
I need to thank Michael Allred and Laura Allred for renewing my interest in the amazing art form that is the comic book. Thank You!




BONUS SECTION:

Madman And The Atomics was drawn by Mike Allred, who resembles Madman, and colored by Laura Allred (who just happens to look alot like It Girl). This series includes all the classic elements that made Marvel comics so great back in the 60's. The art is superb, the coloring makes the art really pop and the storylines serve up plenty of action and suspense. The Image graphic novel reprints all the original AAA Pop comics in one volume.  


Labels: , , , ,

Monday, June 8, 2015

Airboy #1 - Image Comics review



The cover of latest version of Airboy comics, published by Image Comics, from 6/15.
For those of you are unfamiliar with the character of Airboy here's a little history, Airboy was a young, expert pilot who helped the Allies fight the Axis during WWII. The first series ended after a ten year run in '53 and the character was resurrected by Eclipse Comics back in the 80's. 2 more versions of the book have been published since 2000.


The first issue of the latest version is unlike any comic I have ever seen and in no way, shape or form resembles the original version of Airboy. The story focuses on the actual writer, James Robinson and comic artist, Greg Hinkle as they try to revamp the classic character for Image Comics. Seeking inspiration the creative duo rent a hotel room to exchange ideas and come up short. So they decide to "Go Get A Drink" and end up on a alcohol fueled, drug induced bender that I will not describe, it has to be seen in the comic to be believed. (This comic should be rated XXX and is definitely not for the kiddies.) The idea men @ Image really got their creative juices flowin' on this comic even though the characters in the comic cannot, it's an interesting juxtaposition. Airboy makes a surprise appearance on the very last page as the hung over pair are trying to figure out exactly what happened the night before. I'm curious to see how this unique premise will play out in the issues to come. With Airboy #1, Image Comics has proven that they are on the cutting edge in the comics industry.

Airboy made his first appearance in 11/43 in a 10 cent comic called Air Fighters Comics.


The comic was renamed Airboy Comics in 12/45.



Labels: , , ,